Cathedral St Etienne

St. Etienne Cathedral


St. Etienne  Cathedral is located in Kigali city, in the District of  Nyarugenge in the sector of Biryogo and the zone  Umurimo. St. Etienne is one of the parishes of  the Archideaconary of Kigali. It is found with in Kigali Diocese compound. The address is;

P.O Box.61 Kigali. Telephone.+250784750888.

E-mail:; Facebook: St.etiennecathedral; Website:


St. Etienne Cathedral borders with Gikondo Parish to the east, Nyarufunzo Parish to the north. To the west there is Ruyenzi Parish which is found in the Shyongwe Diocese. There is also Kanyinya and Gatsata parishes of Kigali archdeaconry, that are also found to the north. It also borders with Kacyiru Parish to the east which is found in the Gasabo Diocese. St. Etienne Cathedral operates with in 8 sectors; that of Nyarugenge, Gitega, Muhima, Kimisagara, Rwezamenyo, Nyakabanda, Nyamirambo and Kigali. All of these sectors are found in Nyarugenge District.

Foundation period :

The building of St Etienne Cathedral started in the year 1968. It was led by the first pastor called  Rev. Can. Eustache Kajuga.  St. Etienne Cathedral was opened on  1/11/1970. From there up to now, St. Etienne Cathedral has extended to start 3 parishes that includes; Gikondo, Kacyiru and  Nyarufunzo parish (Mission parish). Now it is a parish with  one local church that runs with over 1200 christians.

  1. The following are servants of the Lord in St. Etienne Cathedral:
  • Dean: Rt. Rev. Louis A. Muvunyi, Bishop of Kigali Diocese
  • Subdean: Rev. Diallo Runezerwa
  • Part time Pastor: Rev. Maurice Klebert Rukimbira
  • Part time Pastor: Rev. Daniel Hanlon (in charge of English Service)
  • Part time Pastor: Rev. Manasseh Tuyizere
  • Part time Pastor: Rev. Innocent Sindikubwabo (in charge of Evening Service)
  • Part time Pastor: Rev. Annet Ikiriza
  • Assistant Administrator: Ndagijimana Theoneste
  • Accountant: Habarurema Silas
  • Church and compound freshness: Nzamurambaho Japhet
  • Church and compound freshness: Kayitesi Jacqueline
  • Security: Sibomana Jean Damascene

2. (Cathedral Council)

1 Executive Committee

  • President of christians: Cecile Mukabutera
  • Vice president: George Barigye
  • Secretary: Jane Bateta

2.Bishop’s Advisors:

  • Stella Ford Mugabo (Head of advisors council)
  • Biraro Obadiah
  • Jeannette Rwigema

3. Heads of Committees:

  • Finance: Ramba Afrika
  • Planning and Development: Mr. Munyaneza Charles
  • Evangelism: Mr. Umwizerwa Prosper
  • Fathers’ Union: Can. Rwamboera Francois
  • Social affairs: Mrs. Charlotte Karemera
  • Mothers’ Union: Muteteri Joyce
  • Youth Union: Mr. Rwigema Baudouin
  • Sunday School: Mr. Uwizeye Joel
  • Protocol, Security and Decoration: Emmanuel Nsabimana
  • Music and Worship: Mr. Nkulikiyimana Michel
  • Media and Communication: Theoneste Ndagijimana
  • Education: David Tumusiime
  • Intercession: Rukundo Daniel
  • Cells: Habarugira Augustin

Parish Map