Kigali Diocese

Vision: Be a Church that glorifies God and impacts the community through our fellowship, Evangelism, discipleship, economic empowerment and reconciled relationship.

Mission: Proclaim the Good News of Jesus Christ in Word and deed, for the holistic transformation of lives of Church members and communities.

Kigali Diocese is one of 11 Dioceses of the Province of Anglican Church of Rwanda.  It has 7 Archdeaconries with 42 parishes, 192 local churches and 944 Home cells (house groups), The total membersship is over 45,500. The  Diocese operates in 3 urban districts of the capital city of Kigali (Nyarugenge, Kicukiro and Gasabo), two  Districts of  Eastern Province (Rwamagana, Bugesera) and two Districts of Northern province (Rulindo and Gakenke)


The Lord has been good to Rwanda and to His Church: Bishop Louis’ message

This summer in August, Rwandans went to the polls. We praise God for the tranquility, peaceful moments we enjoyed which demonstrate hope for a brighter future. New plans to develop the country are underway as part of the Vision 2020, government development program launched in 2000. Its main objective is transforming the country into a knowledge-based middle-income country, thereby reducing poverty.

As a result, we see skyscrapers coming up, new infrastructure and universities, technological advancement put in place (roads, a new airport, etc...). Despite the bigger majority of the population still living under the line of poverty. We thank God for the healing we also see around and growth.

However, the Church of Christ is now faced with both unprecedented opportunities and challenges. We now see the imperative of planning long term and embracing the new missiological opportunities coming our way, and hence preaching and discipling communities without compromise.

The Anglican Diocese of Kigali has in the past focused its efforts on reconciliation and healing of the Churches and communities but now has two priorities, namely to raise a generation of church passionate leaders who are theologically trained as opposed to the aftermath of the genocide when lay volunteers were simply ordained to take leadership of then struggling but numerically growing parishes left vacant by pastors killed or exiled during the 1994 genocide.  Secondly, our Dioese is increasingly becoming urbanised, we are confronted not only  with change of mindset but also governemnt rules to upgrade our church buildings and to plant churches in a now more expensive city.

Our new strategic orientation launched this year will help us to be relevant to our fast socially changing nation hence, by strengthening the Church to achieve its God given mission. Efforts will be made to avail  discipleship and training materials; as well as equipping key strategic teams for their evangelistic outreach activities.

Join us on Social Media